a littlebit of this, a littlebit of that…

Last Man Standing 2009

The first race is over – I wasn’t the last man standing, but neither was I the first one down…

April 25, 2009 – Vienna, Cyclodrom
the weather was great, the sun was shining the sky was blue, but the wind was a devil with up to 50km/h.
The race started at 09.10am and the goal was to cycle as many kilimeters as possible within the next 12hrs.
the course was fairly easy, 1.5km with no climbs.

my goal was set at a minimum of 250km, but i hoped for close to 300km.
pretty soon i realized that the wind will be a main player and that 300km will be pretty hard to achieve. even more so as I was riding 44:16 fixed, which was too slow for the tail-wind section and almost too hard for the head-wind.
also, most of the other rides rode on singlespeed bikes, so they were able to rest there legs at least for a couple of meters…

so most of the time i rode alone, which worked pretty well for me. after about 5 hrs i had some 130kms and I knew that 250km is going to be no problem.
after 10h40min I had 251.35km on my speedometer. this was what I had hoped for…
so I decided to let it be, and headed back home, and sepnt the rest of the eveneing with my family…

my guess is taht 275 to 280km would have been possible if i had continued to the end.
251.35km is ok, but compared to the 404km the winner had on his odometer, I guess it’s a poor performance.

still, now I know that the next race, the Kraftwerktrophy, should go pretty well – 300km shouldn’t be a problem then. now I only have to decide if i do the Kraftwerktrophy with my roadbie or with the Singlespeed once again….

going up...just a bit
just going up a bit

catch me, if you can...
catch me, if you can (actually the could and did quite often…)

just me
just me…

Leave a Reply

